British Business Awards August / September 2010

2010 BCCJ British Business Awards

Nominations are invited for the third annual BCCJ British Business Awards to be held at the Conrad Tokyo hotel in Shiodome on 19 November.

The five categories are:

Corporate Innovation Award
Nominees should describe the development of an innovative product, process or service, or a new way of working that has demonstrated commercial, business or customer benefits.

Best Entrepreneur Award
Nominees will need to show excellent achievement in all aspects of their organisation by describing sound sales, marketing, leadership and results-driven strategies that have led to success.

Social Enterprise/NPO Award
This award is open to charitable organisations and community or social enterprises trading in Japan with a social purpose and/or a not-for-profit basis that have demonstrated an innovative way of meeting the organisation’s objectives while delivering a positive impact on society, individuals or the environment.

Corporate Excellence Award
Nominees will need to show outstanding achievement in all aspects of their organisation in such areas as leadership, customer-focus, staff training, diversity, innovation and environmental awareness.

Special Award
This is the first year we have offered this prize, which recognises a firm that may not meet the criteria of any of the above awards, but has shown outstanding potential.

With the exception of the Special Award category, which is open to all businesses, nominees for awards must be one or more of the following:

  • BCCJ Member
  • Japan-based British-owned firm
  • Japan-based firm with significant UK links

Each winner will be presented with a trophy made by Scottish sculptor Kate Thomson - an abstract design called Resonance, a fitting name for the awards.

Nomination form can be downloaded here.
Entries should be sent to the BCCJ office.

  • All nominations, including self-nominations, should include references from people that the judges can contact to obtain supporting evidence.
  • Written entries should clearly describe the reasons for the nomination, including development, processes, results and demonstrable successes.
  • Nominees are encouraged to submit a one- to two-minute video explaining their organisation, which will be shown on the awards night. Entries must be received by 22 October.
  • All finalists must agree to take part in publicity and to attend the awards presentation.